Young Economist Prize 2020

The France Israel Foundation organizes two prizes for young economists, awarded every year, to honor a French and an Israeli young economist whose work has gained international distinction.

Capture d’écran 2020-11-26 à 19.25.46.
Capture d’écran 2020-11-26 à 19.25.52.
Capture d’écran 2020-11-26 à 19.25.58.

Conditions of eligibility:

  • 40 years for a French economist on December 31, 2019

  • 45 years for an Israeli economist (because of the length of military service) on December 31, 2019

The  two prizes are awarded once a year and are granted for a very high quality research in any economic domain.

The jury is composed of 6 members designated by the FIF 

3 Israeli and 3 French members

  • Professor Philippe Aghion, Harvard and chair of the department of economy at College de France

  • Professor Elhanan Helpman, president of the jury, Harvard

  • Professor Helene Rey, London Scholol of economics

  • Professor Nathan Sussman, Hebrew University

  • Professor Manuel Trajtenberg Tel Aviv University

  • Professor Jean Tirole, Nobel Prize, Toulouse school of economics.

.

Prizes worth 40000 euros each will be awarded either in France or in Israel according to the decision of the FFI.

The candidates will be nominated by institutions or individual researchers.) (cf bylaws)

 

The dossiers are to be sent before February 1st, 2020 to contact@fondationfranceisrael.org 

 

Records must include:

  • a letter of sponsorship signed by the person or institution that recommends it

  • a one-page statement explaining how this candidate deserves this award

  • a list of the 3 major publications of the candidate

  • the curriculum vitae of the candidate

  • the name of the candidate and his institutional affiliation

Isabelle Méjean, Professor in the Department of Economics (CREST)[1] at École Polytechnique and President of the Department of Economics at Institut Polytechnique de Paris, and Alon Eizenberg, Senior Lecturer in the Bogen Family Department of Economics at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, are named winners of the prestigious 2020 Young Economist Award by the France Israel Foundation.

The France Israel Foundation awards Isabelle Méjean and Alon Eizenberg the 2020 Young Economist Award. The Foundation organizes two prizes for young economists, awarded every year, to honor a French and an Israeli young economist whose work has received international distinction. The winners will receive their prize this year, however, due to the current international health crisis, the award ceremony for the 2020 winners has been postponed to a later date in 2021.

[1] Center for Research in Economics and Statistics (CREST – A joint research lab between École Polytechnique/ENSAE Paris/ Institut Polytechnique de Paris/CNRS/GENES)

Isabelle Méjean – French Winner of the 2020 Young Economist Award

Capture d’écran 2020-11-26 à 19.31.53.

Professor and researcher in the Department of Economics (CREST) at École Polytechnique and President of the Department of Economics at Institut Polytechnique de Paris, Isabelle Méjean’s internationally-renowned research focuses on the effects of trade globalization, including the structure of international value chains.

 

Isabelle Méjean’s work has received international distinction on many occasions: the Malinvaud Award that she received in July 2016, a European Research Council (ERC) Starting Grant in 2017 for her research on international economy as well as the prestigious 2020 Best Young Economist Award from the French journal Le Monde and the Cercle des Economistes for her work on the effects of trade globalization and the extension of value chains.

 

Isabelle Méjean developed an original research program with an important empirical dimension. In her research, she uses administrative data to document various dimensions of heterogeneity across firms, notably in their participation to international markets, and study the macroeconomic consequences of this heterogeneity. Her recent research focuses on the participation of firms to global value chains, which contributes to diffusing microeconomic and macroeconomic shocks across national economies.

 

Following a thesis in International Macroeconomics at University Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne, Isabelle Méjean started at École Polytechnique in 2007 as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Economics. After six years at École Polytechnique and one year in the Research Department of the International Monetary Fund (IMF), Isabelle Méjean received tenure in 2014.

Alon Eizenberg – Israeli Winner of the 2020 Young Economist Award

Capture d’écran 2020-11-26 à 19.32.12.

Alon Eizenberg is an economist in the Bogen Family Department of Economics at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. His research seeks to understand mechanisms that govern modern markets. Alon Eizenberg specializes in the empirical study of consumer preferences and their implications for firms’ incentives. In particular, he studied the impact of innovation in personal computing on different consumer types, and the consequences for market competition of the rise of the middle class, a fundamental socioeconomic shift observed in many emerging economics.

 

Alon Eizenberg’s research articles were published in journals including the Review of Economic Studies, the American Economic Journal: Applied Economics, the American Economic Journal: Economic Policy, and the RAND Journal of Economics. In January 2017, he was ranked fifth in the IDEAS/RePEc list of Top 100 Young Economists (taken from a pool of 5,832 economists whose first publication of any kind is of 5 or fewer years).

 

Alon Eizenberg earned his Ph.D in Economics from Yale University in 2009. He has advised the Israel Antitrust Authority and currently advises the Bank of Israel on competition issues. In 2011, he co-founded the annual workshop “Industrial Organization, Regulation and Competition Policy in Israel”, and has been co-organizing it since. He served as a Lecturer in the Department of Economics at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem as of 2010 and was promoted to Senior Lecturer (with tenure) in 2016.

Isabelle Méjean & Alon Eizenberg Receive 2020 Young Economist Award from the France Israel Foundation

Prix du Jeune Economiste 2020

La Fondation France-Israël crée les Prix des Jeunes Economistes remis chaque année pour honorer un(e) jeune économiste français(e) et un(e) jeune économiste israélien(ne) dont les travaux ont acquis une renommée internationale.

Capture d’écran 2020-11-26 à 19.25.46.
Capture d’écran 2020-11-26 à 19.25.52.
Capture d’écran 2020-11-26 à 19.25.58.

Conditions d’éligibilité

  • 40 ans pour un économiste français au 31 décembre 2019

  • 45 ans pour un économiste israélien (en raison de la durée du service militaire) au 31 décembre 2019.

 

Ces deux prix seront remis une fois par an pour des travaux de recherche de haut niveau dans un domaine économique.

 

Le jury est composé de 6 membres choisis par la FFI :

 3 Français et 3 Israéliens :

  • Professeur Philippe Aghion titulaire de la chaire d’économie au Collège de France et professeur à Harvard, , 

  • Professeur Elhanan Helpman président du jury, Harvard

  • Professeure Helène Rey, London School of Economics

  • Professeur Nathan Sussman, hébraïque de Jérusalem

  • Professeur Manuel Trajtenberg Université de tel Aviv

  • Professeur  Jean Tirole, prix Nobel d’économie, Toulouse School of economics.

 

Les prix d'une valeur de 40000 euros chacun seront remis soit en France soit en Israel selon la décision de la FFI.

 

Les candidats seront nominés par des institutions ou des chercheurs.

 

Les dossiers doivent être envoyés au plus tard le 1er février 2020 à la Fondation France-Israël à l'adresse suivante : contact@fondationfranceisrael.org

Les dossiers doivent comprendre :

- une lettre de parrainage signée par la personne ou l'institution qui le recommande`

- une déclaration d'une page expliquant en quoi ce candidat mérite ce prix

- une liste des 3 majeures publications du candidat

- le curriculum vitae du candidat

- le nom du candidat et son affiliation institutionnelle

Les résultats de la délibération seront connus en novembre 2020

Isabelle Méjean, professeure au Centre de recherche en économie et statistique (CREST)[1] de l’École polytechnique et présidente du département d’économie de l’Institut Polytechnique de Paris, et Alon Eizenberg, maître de conférences dans le département d’économie de la Bogen Family de l’Université hébraïque de Jérusalem, sont les lauréats du prestigieux Prix du Jeune Économiste 2020 de la Fondation France-Israël.

La Fondation France-Israël décerne à Isabelle Méjean et à Alon Eizenberg le Prix du Jeune Économiste 2020. Chaque année, la Fondation attribue deux Prix à de jeunes économistes français et israélien dont les travaux ont acquis une renommée internationale. En raison du contexte actuel lié à la crise sanitaire internationale, la remise des Prix pour les lauréats 2020 a été reportée à une date ultérieure en 2021.

 

[1] CREST – unité mixte de recherche (CNRS/École Polytechnique/ENSAE Paris/Institut Polytechnique de Paris/GENES)

Isabelle Méjean – Lauréate française du Prix du Jeune Économiste 2020

Capture d’écran 2020-11-26 à 19.31.53.

sabelle Méjean est professeure et chercheuse au Centre de recherche en économie et statistique (CREST) de l’École polytechnique et présidente du département d’économie de l’Institut Polytechnique de Paris. Ses travaux de renommée internationale portent sur les effets de la mondialisation des échanges, notamment sur la structure des chaînes de valeurs internationales.

 

Les travaux d’Isabelle Méjean ont reçu de nombreuses distinctions internationales : le Prix Malinvaud en juillet 2016, une ERC (European Research Council) Starting Grant en 2017 pour ses recherches en économie internationale, ainsi que le Prix du meilleur jeune économiste 2020 décerné par le journal Le Monde et le Cercle des Economistes pour ses travaux sur les effets de la mondialisation des échanges et l’extension des chaînes de valeur.

 

Isabelle Méjean a développé un programme de recherches original, avec une dimension empirique importante. Dans ses recherches, elle utilise des données administratives pour documenter diverses dimensions de l’hétérogénéité entre différentes entreprises, notamment leur participation aux marchés internationaux. Elle étudie ensuite les conséquences macroéconomiques de cette hétérogénéité. Ses recherches récentes portent sur la participation des entreprises aux chaînes de valeur mondiales, ce qui contribue à la diffusion des chocs microéconomiques et macroéconomiques dans les économies nationales.  

 

Après une thèse en macroéconomie internationale effectuée à l’Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne, Isabelle Méjean a rejoint l’École polytechnique en 2007, en tant que professeure chargée de cours au département d’économie. Après six années à l’École polytechnique et une année au département de la recherche du Fonds Monétaire International (FMI), elle est devenue professeure en 2014. 

Alon Eizenberg – Lauréat israélien du Prix du Jeune Économiste 2020

Capture d’écran 2020-11-26 à 19.32.12.

Alon Eizenberg est économiste dans le département d’économie de la Bogen Family de l’Université hébraïque de Jérusalem. Ses travaux visent à comprendre les mécanismes qui régissent les marchés modernes. Alon Eizenberg est spécialisé dans l’étude empirique des préférences des consommateurs et de leurs répercussions en termes d’incitations pour les entreprises. En particulier, il a étudié l’impact de l’innovation dans l’informatique sur différents types de consommateurs, et les conséquences de l’augmentation de la consommation des classes moyennes sur la concurrence du marché, un changement socio-économique fondamental observé dans de nombreuses économies émergentes. 

 

Les articles de recherche d’Alon Eizenberg ont été publiés dans des revues telles que le Review of Economic Studies, l’American Economic Journal: Applied Economics, l’American Economic Journal: Economic Policy et le RAND Journal of Economics. En janvier 2017, il a été classé au cinquième rang de la liste IDEAS/RePEc des 100 meilleurs jeunes économistes (sur un panel de 5 832 économistes dont la première publication date de 5 ans ou moins).

 

Alon Eizenberg a obtenu son doctorat en économie de l’Université Yale en 2009. Il a conseillé l’Autorité antitrust israélienne et conseille actuellement la Banque d’Israël sur les questions de concurrence. En 2011, il a co-fondé l’atelier annuel « L’Organisation industrielle, la réglementation et la politique de la concurrence en Israël », qu’il organise conjointement depuis. Il a été chargé de cours au département d’économie de l’Université hébraïque de Jérusalem à partir de 2010 et a été promu maître de conférences en 2016.

Isabelle Méjean et Alon Eizenberg remportent le Prix du Jeune Économiste 2020 de la Fondation France-Israël

Pour plus d'information sur les prix des années passées, cliquez ici
logo 2019.png
Reconnue d'utilité publique